Lighthouse - Mispillion River, DE
Front

Other products by The Walton Company

Item #: 742.00.0
Our Price: $6.98
Quantity:
More
Less
 
Add to Wishlist

Add to Basket

Description 

About GrafixMat Coasters   •   Front   •   Back Story

 

About GrafixMat Coasters:

Each GrafixMat® is a work of art, masterfully laser-engraved on the cork front with a unique and amusing story colorfully illustrated on its flip-side.  For a treasured gift or your own personal collection; select one or create a set of 2, 4, 6 or more from 21 themed Collections totaling more than 500 contemporary and fine art designs.  Made from eco-friendly recycled cork from Portugal and Spain, yet handcrafted in the U.S.A. GrafixMats® are so artfully designed and intriguing, we've created a hanging hole in the back of each coaster.

All Natural    •    Durable Easy Wash    •    Singles or Sets Storage Caddies    •    4 1/4" Diameter, 5/16" Thick        Green Certified

Front Design:

Sketch of Lighthouse

The Back Story:

Mispillion

The Mispillion lighthouse, located near Milford, DE, was built in 1873.  It was the third lighthouse to be built at this location.  It was discontinued in 1929 and replaced by a light on a steel tower.  The wooden structure passed into private hands in 1932. A lightning strike in 2002 sparked a fire that severely damaged the lighthouse.  Its remains were dismantled by the owner and stored somewhere near Lewes, DE.

About The Artist: Paul M. Bradley Jr., an architect by profession, began drawing lighthouses after a New England vacation sparked his interest in the structures. His drawings appear quarterly in the Keeper’s Log a publication of the U.S. Lighthouse Society (www.uslhs.org).